July 13, 2024

Better Cotton Announces 2024 Member Award Winners

Better Cotton revealed the recipients of its 2024 Member Awards during a prestigious ceremony at the two-day Better Cotton Conference in Istanbul, Türkiye. Alan McClay, CEO of Better Cotton, and Eva Benavidez Clayton, Senior Director of Membership and Supply Chain, presented awards recognizing outstanding contributions to the cotton industry.

In the 2021-2022 season, Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members collectively sourced an impressive 2.6 million tonnes of Better Cotton, marking over 10% of global cotton production.

Alan McClay commented, “It’s a great privilege to host our Member Awards and celebrate the dedication of our partners. Collaborative efforts are crucial for transformative change in the cotton sector, and as Better Cotton’s network grows, we acknowledge the progress made collectively as an industry.”

2024 Better Cotton Member Award Winners:

Top Contributor Award:

  • Walmart, for significant uptake of Better Cotton in the large to very large member category.
  • John Lewis Partnership, for significant uptake of Better Cotton in the very small to medium-sized member category.

Sourcing Award:

  • Cargill Commodities, for sourcing the highest volumes of Better Cotton in the cotton trader category.
  • Vicunha Têxtil, for sourcing the highest volumes of Better Cotton in the intermediary category.

Impact Storyteller Award:

  • Cotton Egypt Association, for showcasing impactful stories on Better Cotton’s website, highlighting sustainable cotton production in Egypt’s Nile Delta.

Innovators Award:

  • CABI, recognized for promoting sustainable practices and livelihoods among farmers in Pakistan, including their role in developing Pakistan’s national organic agriculture policy.

Outstanding Contribution Award:

  • İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD), honoured for their significant contributions to Better Cotton’s activities in Türkiye since 2013.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *